Fitness 2.0

FOOD PACKAGING OPEN COURSEWARE FOR HIGHER EDUCATION AND STAFF OF COMPANIES

CONTACT
Christophe Cotillon & Gemma Cornuau (Actia)
Tel. : 33 (0)1 44 08 86 15   33 (0)1 44 08 37 05

COORDINATION
Actia (France)
The french Network for Food Technology Institutes

Partners

Eight active partners representing six different countries : Croatia (university of Zagreb), Denmark (university of Aarhus), France (Actia, AgroParisTech, L'Institut Agro Dijon, LNE, university of Bourgogne), Germany (Fraunhofer), Portugal (catholic university of Portugal), Spain (CSIC).

One associated partner: Switzerland (Food Packaging Forum)

BEGINING OF PROJECT
November 2021

DURATION
36 months

Reference

2021-1-FR01-KA220-HED-000023509

Objectives

Food packaging is often necessary or even essential for protecting food, keeping it safe and thus preventing substantial food losses. It can help to enable the preservation, transportation, distribution, and preparation of food. However, food packaging today is strongly associated with both environmental and health risks for the consumers. To help packaging professionals address this challenge, the Fitness platform was created to provide both general and in-depth training courses on the design of responsible packaging. This includes learning to optimise many sometimes contradictory criteria across all aspects of food packaging from its production and use through to its reuse, recycling, and disposal.

About us
Context
The European Green Deal and the new circular economy action plan are game-changers for food production and retailing. The food and drink industry is the largest manufacturing industry in the EU (EU Food Drink Industry Data and Trends 2019) and, therefore, a top contributor to Europe’s economy. It generates the highest turnover (15%), added value (13%), and employment (15%) ahead of other manufacturing sectors. Despite these significant economic contributions, the sector faces numerous challenges associated with insufficient preparedness and the lack of harmonised regulations and standards. Education programs need to be reshaped to accelerate the transition to sustainable production and stimulate innovation, especially in new material recovery infrastructures, open and closed-loop recycling, composting, biodegradability, food quality preservation, food loss minimization, supply chain optimization, improved materials, better processing, and packaging strategies.

Ambition
The current open-source platform Fitness is one of the largest e-learning platform on food packaging globally (3 months worth of lectures are online). It is accessible without needing an account, and anyone can duplicate it.
The ambition of the new Fitness 2.0 project is to reach a broader audience in the food packaging value chain, from the chemical industry to recyclers and to offer certified courses validated by online tests.

Impact
Fitness 2.0 will contribute to accelerating the digital transformation of education and training systems by bridging education, research, and innovation, as well as by creating a global community within the field and offering new training paths for current and future professionals.
In addition to expanding the current set of courses, Fitnessw 2.0 is committed to implementing two new innovations to reach the main target groups (food and packaging engineers, recycling and processing professionals, circular economists) on a broad scale:
- multilingualism (translations of original Fitness courses),
- personalised learning (using an artificial intelligence-based assistant and guided curriculum).

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/fitness-packaging/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Fitness_2_0/

 FITNESS platform

Actions

Fitness 2.0

DIDACTICIEL OUVERT SUR L'EMBALLAGE ALIMENTAIRE POUR L'ENSEIGNEMENT SUPÉRIEUR ET LE PERSONNEL DES ENTREPRISES

CONTACT
Christophe Cotillon & Gemma Cornuau (Actia)
Tél. : 33 (0)1 44 08 86 15   33 (0)1 44 08 37 05

COORDINATION
Actia (France)
Le Réseau français des Instituts techniques de l'agro-alimentaire

Partenaires

Huit partenaires actifs représentant six pays différents :
Allemagne (Fraunhofer), Croatie (université de Zagreb), Danemark (université d'Aarhus), Espagne (CSIC), France (Actia, AgroParisTech, L'Institut Agro Dijon, LNE, université de Bourgogne), Portugal (université catholique du Portugal).

Un partenaire associé : Suisse (Food Packaging Forum)

DÉBUT DE PROJET
Novembre 2021

DURÉE
36 mois

Référence

2021-1-FR01-KA220-HED-000023509

Objectifs

Les emballages alimentaires sont souvent nécessaires, voire indispensables, pour protéger les aliments, les conserver en toute sécurité et éviter ainsi des pertes alimentaires importantes. Cela permet d’assurer une conservation, un transport, une distribution et une préparation des aliments améliorées. Cependant, les emballages alimentaires sont aujourd’hui fortement associés à des risques environnementaux et sanitaires pour les consommateurs. Pour aider les professionnels de l’emballage à relever ces défis, la plate-forme Fitness a été créée pour dispenser des formations à la fois générales et approfondies sur la conception d’emballages responsables. Cela comprend l’apprentissage de l’optimisation de nombreux critères parfois contradictoires dans tous les aspects de l’emballage alimentaire, de sa production et de son utilisation à sa réutilisation, son recyclage et son élimination.

À propos de nous
Contexte
Le Green Deal européen et le nouveau plan d’action pour l’économie circulaire changent la donne pour la production et la distribution des denrées alimentaires. Le secteur agro-alimentaire et des boissons est le plus grand secteur manufacturier de l’UE (EU Food Drink Industry Data and Trends, 2019) et, par conséquent, l’un des principaux contributeurs à l’économie européenne. Il génère le chiffre d’affaires (15 %), la valeur ajoutée (13 %) et l’emploi (15 %) les plus élevés devant les autres industries manufacturières. Malgré ce poids économique important, le secteur est confronté à de nombreux défis liés à une préparation insuffisante et à l’absence de réglementations et de normes harmonisées. Les programmes d’éducation doivent ainsi être repensés pour accélérer la transition vers une production durable et stimuler l’innovation, en particulier sur les nouvelles infrastructures de récupération des matériaux, le recyclage, le compostage, la biodégradabilité, la préservation de la qualité des aliments, la réduction des pertes alimentaires, l’optimisation de la chaîne d’approvisionnement, l’amélioration des matériaux ou encore sur de meilleures stratégies de transformation et d’emballage des produits alimentaires.

Ambition
La plate-forme open source actuelle Fitness est une des plus grandes plates-formes d’apprentissage en ligne sur les emballages alimentaires au monde (trois mois de conférences sont en ligne). Elle est accessible sans création de compte et duplicable sans restriction.
L’ambition du nouveau projet Fitness 2.0 est de toucher un public plus large dans la chaîne de valeur des emballages alimentaires, de l’industrie chimique aux organismes recycleurs et de proposer des formations certifiées, validées par des tests en ligne.

Impact
Fitness 2.0 contribuera à accélérer la transformation numérique des systèmes d’éducation et de formation, en favorisant les liens entre éducation, recherche et innovation, en créant une communauté mondiale dans le domaine et en offrant de nouveaux parcours de formation pour les professionnels, actuels et futurs.

En plus d’élargir l’offre actuelle de cours, Fitness 2.0 s’engage à mettre en œuvre deux nouvelles innovations pour toucher à plus grande échelle les groupes cibles suivants : ingénieurs de l’alimentation et de l’emballage, professionnels du recyclage et de la transformation, économie circulaire :
- le multilinguisme (traduction des cours Fitness);
- un apprentissage personnalisé (à l’aide d’un assistant basé sur l’intelligence artificielle et d’un programme personnalisé).

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/fitness-packaging/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Fitness_2_0/

ACCÉDER À LA PLATE-FORME FITNESS

Actions