Coordination

Partners

CTCPA
Inrae - Avignon

Objectives

Processed fruits and vegetables are very widely consumed and contribute significantly to people's total fruit and vegetable intake. These products have definite nutritional benefits. Processed fruit and vegetable businesses must offer products that are attractive for consumers while managing multiple constraints related to competitiveness and sustainability: process optimisation, waste reduction, and the need for innovation.

The aim of ACTIA's QUALIVEG Joint Technological Unit is to improve the nutritional and organoleptic properties of processed fruit and vegetables and promote innovations in the industry without compromising food safety. It relies on multi-disciplinary approaches around science and food technologies and integrates the entire industry, from primary production to consumption.

The Joint Technological Unit's five-year programme started in January 2018. It is located in Avignon, at the heart of an eco-system of research, development, and training institutions devoted to plant-based industries. It is in line with the work of the previous Joint Technological Unit.

Actions

Making sure fruit and vegetables are safe to eat and preserve their microbiological quality, with a particular focus on ecology and on the behaviour of thermo-resistant micro-organisms (e.g. bacterial spores).

The improvement of processed fruit and vegetables' nutritional properties, particularly through better management of the heterogeneity of raw materials.

The transfer of new knowledge to the fruit and vegetable processing industry.

Coordination

Partenaires

CTCPA
Inrae - Avignon

Objectifs

Les fruits & légumes transformés, très largement consommés, contribuent fortement à la consommation totale de fruits & légumes. Ces produits présentent un intérêt nutritionnel certain. La filière des fruits & légumes transformés doit proposer des produits attractifs pour les consommateurs en gérant de multiples contraintes de compétitivité et de durabilité : optimisation des procédés, limitation des pertes et des gaspillages, besoin d’innovations.


L’UMT ACTIA QUALIVEG a pour objectif l’amélioration des qualités nutritionnelles et organoleptiques des fruits & légumes transformés et la promotion des innovations dans la filière, sans compromettre la sécurité sanitaire. Elle s’appuie sur des approches multidisciplinaires autour des sciences et technologies des aliments et intègre l’ensemble de la filière, de la production primaire à la consommation.


L’UMT a débuté ses activités en janvier 2018 pour 5 ans. Elle est située à Avignon, au cœur d’un écosystème d’établissements de recherche, de développement et de formation dédiés aux filières du végétal. Elle s’inscrit dans la continuité de la précédente UMT.

Actions

Préservation de la sécurité sanitaire et de la qualité microbiologique des fruits & légumes transformés, en s’intéressant notamment à l’écologie et au comportement des micro-organismes thermorésistants (bactéries sporulées).


Amélioration des qualités nutritionnelles et organoleptiques des fruits & légumes transformés, en s’appuyant notamment sur une meilleure maîtrise de l’hétérogénéité des matières premières.


Transfert des nouvelles connaissances vers l’industrie des fruits & légumes transformés.