Coordination

Actalia Sensoriel

Partners

UMR STLO (Agrocampus, Inrae)

Objectives

Explore the first steps in the hydrolysis of caseins in high-scald pressed cooked and uncooked cheeses.

This entails better understanding the role of the different enzymatic actors involved in the hydrolysis of casein and in identifying the synergies that can exist between the key factors, whether they are of microbial origin, endogenous to milk or of technological nature. The UMT more particularly studies the so-called secondary caseolytic agents (cathepsin D, proteases from somatic cells, proteases from lactic ferments), as the involvement of the coagulant and of the plasmine is, now, well documented. Special attention is given to the consequences of this primary proteolysis on the development of sensory and functional qualities: ability to be cut and culinary properties.

Caseolis also has a mission to enrich knowledge in order to feed the technological reasoning of cheese makers, especially within the framework of highly standardised and enriched milks, develop and disseminate methods for monitoring proteolytic agents and for characterising the functional properties of cheese.

This UMT is located in Rennes.

Actions

Analytical developments allowing for the observation of the biodiversity of caseolytic agents, monitoring them qualitatively and quantitatively in situ, improving the techniques for assessing the hydrolysis of casein in cheese and measuring the cutting properties.

Carrying out experiments with uncooked and high-scald pressed cheeses, including monitoring caseolytic agents in milk right through to production and ripening.

Characterising the functional and sensory quality of the cheese obtained.

Five major themes

Improving and validating techniques for measuring the hydrolysis of casein.

Biodiversity of the cell-wall proteases of thermophile Lactobacillus.

Cathepsin D and proteases from somatic cells.

Impact of the emerging techniques for preparing milk on the hydrolysis of casein.

Relations between the hydrolysis of casein and the ability of cheese to be cut.

Coordination

Actalia Sensoriel

Partenaires

UMR STLO (Agrocampus, Inrae)

Objectifs

Explorer les premières étapes de l’hydrolyse des caséines dans les fromages à pâte pressée cuite et non-cuite.

Il s’agit de mieux comprendre le rôle des différents acteurs enzymatiques impliqués dans la caséolyse et d’identifier les synergies pouvant exister entre les facteurs-clefs, qu’ils soient d’origine microbienne, endogènes au lait ou encore d’ordre technologique. L’UMT étudie plus particulièrement les agents caséolytiques dits secondaires (cathepsine D, protéases des cellules somatiques, protéases des ferments lactiques), l’implication du coagulant et de la plasmine étant, à présent, bien documentée. Une attention particulière est portée aux conséquences de cette protéolyse primaire sur le développement des qualités sensorielles et fonctionnelles : aptitudes à la découpe et propriétés culinaires.

Caseolis a également pour mission d’enrichir les connaissances afin d’alimenter le raisonnement technologique des fromagers, notamment dans le cadre des laits hautement standardisés et enrichis, de développer et de diffuser des méthodes de suivi des agents protéolytiques et de caractérisation des propriétés fonctionnelles des fromages.

Cette UMT est située à Rennes.

Actions

Développements analytiques permettant l’observation de la biodiversité des agents caséolytiques, leur suivi qualitatif et quantitatif in situ, l’amélioration des techniques d'appréciation de la caséolyse des fromages et la mesure des propriétés de découpe.

Réalisation d’expérimentations fromagères en pâtes pressées cuites et non-cuites, incluant un suivi des agents caséolytiques du lait jusqu'à la fabrication et à l'affinage.

Caractérisation de la qualité fonctionnelle et sensorielle des fromages obtenus.

Cinq grands thèmes

Amélioration et validation des techniques de mesures de la caséolyse.

Biodiversité des protéases de paroi des lactobacilles thermophiles.

Cathepsine D et protéases des cellules somatiques.

Incidence des techniques émergentes de préparation du lait sur la caséolyse.

Relations entre la caséolyse et l’aptitude des fromages à la découpe.